Best Books in the Library

The Kraemer Library is a popular spot for students during breaks or lunch. It boasts a large collection of computers, several tables where students can sit and study together, armchairs for reading, a study corner, and of course, a vast array of books. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic, the library is currently closed. The Kraemer library has a variety of books, ranging from non-fiction to poetry to science fiction, historical fiction, realistic fiction, fantasy, textbooks, and even some Spanish TPRS novels. However, it can be intimidating to find a good book to read with so many books and genres. Fear not, for this article shall show you wonders unknown!

    Readers who enjoy the Harry Potter books, Percy Jackson, The Hunger Games, and Divergent will absolutely love The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. This 4 part series begins with a cyborg named Cinder who works in a small mechanics shop in a city called New Beijing. She is treated awfully by her adopted mother and older sister but finds comfort in her younger adopted sister’s presence. One day, a deadly virus ruins her life even more, and she is given up to a research facility to be tested on.

    Meanwhile, the Crown Prince of the Commonwealth nation, Prince Kai, is dealing with his own loss and a political issue with the moon. A colony had moved onto the moon, and the citizens of this kingdom were called “Lunars.” They evolved to look like humans, but they have supernatural abilities to control their recipients’ minds, bodies, and emotions. 

    After an encounter, Cinder and Kai become unlikely friends, and along with a ragtag group of friends they meet, they later go on a mission to save Earth. 

    Marissa also published a trilogy about a world where some people have superpowers called Renegades. The Renegades are like the police force in this world, but Nova’s main character is part of the Anarchists. She goes undercover one day to defeat the Renegades from the inside but starts to uncover truths that make her falter. In this series, readers who enjoy action, romance, and science fiction can be absorbed into this world while also asking themselves deeper questions such as, “What is a villain?”. 

    Another fan-favorite is the Wings of Fire series by Tui T. Sutherland. This collection is about a fantasy world with dragons. However, the dragons have been at war with each other for centuries. There are several types of dragons who mostly keep to themselves, but young dragons must band together to save the world when evil arises. This two-season series is perfect for fans of Warrior Cats and other fantasy stories about animals. 

     Sometimes, reading plain books can be a bore, but luckily, the Library also boasts a collection of graphic novels. Awkward, Brave, and Crush by Svetlana Chmakova is always popular. A full review of them is available in the A&E section! 

    Raina Telgemeier is also an artist who created the ever-popular Smile series which follows Raina on her childhood adventure as she struggles to fit in.

    The Kraemer library has so many great books to be read; whether reading is a favorite pastime or not, anyone can find a good book to read.